Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | April 4, 2012

Arranged

 

I snapped this photo in my Cousin Nancy’s backyard.  We couldn’t have arranged a nicer outing.  Her husband Ian played folk music on his guitar.

Tallie, her little Papillon, and our favorite little fur person, played fetch with the kids.

 

Then we all roasted marshmallows for s’mores in their fire pit.

 

Creating a lovely backdrop for us was this fascinating arrangement for firewood that I found so pleasing to the eye.

 

I did pause to wonder how the tree might have felt about the arrangement. Did it feel supported and held up by the spirits of its ancestors, or was it made nervous at the thought of suffering a similar fate? Am I the only one who thinks about these things?

All words and images c2014NaomiBaltuck

Responses

  1. I had to do a double take. The tree looked like it was laying down and I wondered why that would be. Ha ha. The laughs on me. A unique place to stack wood. Who would have thought?

    • Hi Tess. It is a strange photo, and takes a minute for the eye to register what it is looking at. Thanks for your comment, and taking the time to visit.

  2. Hi Naomi! Its funny, I looked at the photo for a while and was wondering if the tree was thinking it was next and then I read your post. I guess great minds think alike. 😉

    • Funny! I wondered if I was the only one! Thanks for stopping by, Vanessa.

  3. What a fascinating photo! Made me feel a wee bit claustrophobic for the tree at first….and then it looked like it was sheltering little fledglings beneath its branches….

    I’m curious about your photo challenges – do you challenge yourself or do you find the challenge elsewhere?….or do you take a photo and challenge yourself to write a blog post inspired by the photo? Whichever it is, I’m enjoying them! 🙂
    Terri

    • Hi Terri,

      Thanks for stopping by, and taking the time to comment.

      Several of the bloggers I follow have posted their Weekly Photo Challenge, including Madhu on her travel blog The Urge to Wander, http://theurgetowander.com/.

      I really love photography as well as writing. This is the first time I have actually participated, but I might again.

      You can find the information about the Weekly Challenge at: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/

      • Oh, you’re right! But it was through a link from one of your posts that led me to Madhu’s travel blog…therein lies the confusion in my swiss cheese brain. Thank you for giving me the link to the challenge – and I really look forward to seeing and reading more of your challenge responses!

  4. I thought the same thing!

    • Funny! Thanks so much for stopping by, Maggie.

  5. Hi,
    A very unusual photo, a very unique idea, I also wondered about the tree, but it does really look like the cut wood is supporting the tree, and the tree is supporting the cut wood. 😀

    • Thank you, Mags. What an interesting perspective. Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

  6. Nope Naomi, you are apparently not the only one – I too had thoughts for the tree – all living things, etc etc – good post for ‘arranged’.

    • Thank you for your visit, Lynne. I lappriciate your comment.

  7. It took me awhile to get it, but now I see! It looks almost surreal.

    • Thank you, J.G.! It was good of you to stop by, and take the time to comment.

  8. MAde me smile!
    Such a great arrangement, it looks very beautiful!

    • Hi Pablo, I know the focus on this pciture could be better, but I decided to post it anyway, because of the arrangement challenge. Thank you for your kind words!

  9. Beautiful post my friend 🙂

    • You are very kind! I have been having fun looking at your blog, too, with all the fun and intriguing graphics you do. I look forward to more of your posts.

      Thank you so much for stopping by, and thanks for following y blog! I want to thank you also for taking the time to write to me about the Photo Challenge.

  10. What a great photo. It also makes for a great writing prompt: a piece from the perspective of the tree. It’s feelings were also my first thought, even before I read your comment.

    • Hi Vanessa,

      What a great idea! I really find the Photo Challenge fascinating. Now that you mention it, the photos often suggest a story. I really appreciate your stopping by, and taking the time to comment.

  11. Sounds like a wonderful day. For same reason I don’t like marshmallows normally, but when they’re cooked outside and everybody is relaxed and happy then they suddenly become the perfect taste. I think the tree might be relieved that there’s so much other wood, that the tree itself is unlikely to be needed for a while.

  12. That’s how marshmallows work for me too. One s’more is all I can eat, but it somehow pulls me right back to my Girl Scouting days, and camping with my family. Funny thought about the tree!

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  13. When I first saw this photo, I was immediately transported into the spirit of the tree and felt comforted, like a blanket wrapped all around, snug and warm. I bet the tree is happy for the wind break! (at least partial wind break!) Maybe it was cold. : )

  14. Rather sad for the tree to be reminded constantly of its eventual fate! Lovely shot and really fits the challenge!

    • Thank you, Madhu. I have you to thank for introducing me to the Weekly Photo Challenge. I am really having fun with it.

  15. “…Ian played folk music on his guitar…”
    Hi Naomi,
    for sure the tree was pleased!

  16. […] https://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/weekly-photo-challenge-arranged/ […]

  17. thank you, Naomi, for W = WOOD
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2013/12/03/www-challenge/

  18. No, you’re not the only one who thinks about these things, although others may think we are weird, Naomi 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

