Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | April 6, 2012

What’s Mt. St. Helens Got to Do With the ‘Blog on Fire’ Award?

 


I’ll get to that.  First, I need to thank Mr. Jueseppi B. for nominating me for the Blog on Fire Award. His blog, The ObamaCrat, is so fiery you need a hotline to the Fire Marshal, and an extinguisher at your feet to log on.   Thank you, Mr. JB for the honor you do me!

In keeping with custom, the recipient thanks the nominator, then shares seven facts about herself.  This being the Blog on Fire Award, I have decided to name only things I feel passionate about.

 1.     Purple is my favorite color—always has been.  Even my wedding dress and shoes, and wedding cake were purple.

2.     I’m a professional storyteller.   I tell original and traditional tales to audiences at schools, libraries, and festivals.  I especially love telling in tandem with my kids and husband.

3.     I’ve been to all fifty of the United States of America.  Every summer, my widowed mom piled us into our VW bus to explore the US.  She even drove us up 1200 miles of gravel road to Alaska.  The one state she couldn’t drive to was Hawaii, but I got there on my own.  Thanks, Mom!

 4.     My first grandchild had fur on her face.  One day maybe I’ll tell you that story.


 

5.     My family made it into the Guinness Book of World Records for having the most documented father-to-son generations.  The Brownyer line of my family left a paper trail going back from Bonfol, Switzerland to the Bregnards in France, all the way back to the year 1099.

6.      I met my husband in a beer factory.   Yes, I did, at a folk dance benefit hosted in the old Rainier Brewery ballroom in Seattle.  I tell you this not because I have a passion for beer, because I don’t.  Last month Thom and I celebrated our 29th anniversary, and he still lights my fire.

7.     I survived the eruption of Mt. St. Helens.  I was bird watching in Eastern Washington when the volcano erupted.  I had to hike two miles out of a canyon wading through ash in darkness so thick we could barely see our hands in front of our faces.  Look for that story on my blog next May!


 

Now my favorite part!  I get to pass the Blog on Fire Award to ten deserving bloggers. 

Kristen Lamb is a writer and passionate blogger, who wrote an excellent book, Are You There, Blog?  It’s Me, Writer.  She is the uncontested expert for writers who blog.

Pablo Buitrago is a photographer in Columbia with an incredible eye for color.  His work is bold and striking, and he has the sweetest personality to go with it.

Naked and Hopeful is funny and fresh and full of surprises.  One visit and I was a loyal follower.

Laura Stanfill–a novelist who contributes to the writing community.  She creates interesting  writing challenges, offers good advice, and lots of encouragement.

Constance Baltuck is an Alaska artist with a passion for painting and travel.  Oh, yeah, and she’s also my sister.  She has painted her way across Italy, England, France, the Tetons, as you will see in her archives of past shows.  I carry her brushes and sometimes I paint too, just to make her look good.

Adventures for the Faint of Heart.  This passionate young writer has great tips on ‘How to Get Published Before You Can Get Liquor.’  She’s funny, she’s spot-on, she’s an inspiration to under-age writers and, oh, yeah, she’s my daughter Bea.

Writing Blanks-I enjoy her sense of humor and candor, and her fresh voice.

My Novel Writing Adventures and Other Words–Natasha has sound advice and  interesting observations about writing, but most of all, she has fire inside that comes through in her writing.

Writer’s Block--Kasia James is a writer of sci-fi, with a fresh perspective on writing, and fun book reviews.  She is a sci-fi writer who asks the best questions!

Incidental Learner–a watercolor painter whose blog is colorful and delightful, and whose voice is genuine and charming.  Pure pleasure!

Responses

  1. great post! Writing is such a great thing… I love it. Also thank you so much for all the support and everything. It means a lot.

    • Dear Talin, thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your taking the time to visit. We share a passion for writing, and I appreciate all the work and love you invest into your blog!

  2. And all the best to you!

  3. Congratulations Naomi! Wow! that is a lot of history! Love your first grand kid 🙂

    • This is definitely the condensed version. Glad you had a chance to meet Pandora. I never would have thought I could love a rodent!

      Thanks for stopping by, Madhu.

      • Am babysitting the grandkids and desperately trying to catch up on my blog reading and posting in between boardgames and sports camps 🙂

  4. Congratulations! Well deserved.

    4. My first grandchild had fur on her face. Can’t wait to hear the story.

    • Hi Tess, one of these days I will post the story I wrote about Pandora, best little rodent ever! Thanks so much for stopping by, and taking the time to comment. Best wishes!

  5. WE made it into the Guinness book of world records? Really? I’m impressed. How did I not know that before? I’ll have to get all the details so I can start bragging to my friends. And how did I not know you and Thom met in a brewery? You are a woman of deep mystery and many secrets. What else are you hiding away?
    Love,
    Lee

    • Hi Lee! I thought I told you! We did the homework before we went to Switzerland, and that took us to Bonfol, where Jeanne-Pierre Brenyard immigrated from. (He is Great Grandpa Brownyer’s grandfather.) We knew J-P was a potter from a town of potters, and so went to the Pottery Museum in Bonfol. It is such a small tightly-knit town, still peopled with distant cousins and blood relatives. The curator knew Jean-Pierre’s history–he was the first in town to immigrate after the Industrial Revolution impacted the potter’s business. She even copied the manifest of the ship that J-P came over on, so we could see the names of everyone in his travel group. In the gift shop was a gigantic book of family history–OUR family history–written by one of his cousins who stayed in Bonfol. He is the one who has traced the shared family line back to the First Crusade. The book is in French, but I can make sense of much of it. When you come visit in June, you can see the photograph of the Guinness World Book of Records in his book. (Which I bought and carried home in my arms, lest I lose it!)

      • Naomi,
        I do remember much of this story now that you have refreshed my memory, but not the part about the Guinness Book of World Records. I will need to document this information somehow to pass on to my kids since of course it is part of their history, too! I love that you were able to find all this out. What a great researcher you are. I look forward to seeing you soon.
        Love,
        Lee

      • Dear Lee, I think it was mostly Fool’s Luck! But I’ll take it!

  6. I agree with Lee. What an interesting history. I have to read more of your blog, Naomi. Thank you for leading us to these fantastic-sounding blogs. I know Pablo. The talented sweetheart photographer. I am off to visit the others. Happy Easter!

    • HI George, I am sure that everyone has these things in their history–more fun facts than anything. Maybe they are just too close to it to recognize the story-value. Wasn’t Pablo a a find?! He is so talented, and so dear. Kind of reminds me of you, in fact.

  7. You sound such a character – superwoman 🙂

    • Hi Sarah,

      These are just the kind of fun facts that everyone has in their lives. The possible exception is Mt. St. Helens. (My first volcano!) Too often people think that only BIG stories are worth telling, but the stories we live every day are more likely to reveal our values. As in the life of a hamster, for instance. Thank you so much for stopping by.

  8. Congrats! It is fun learning about you!

    • Hi Nancy! I would love to see your list. As an artist/writer/storyteller I’m sure it would be fun to read. Do you have a blog? If you do, I’d love to read it. Thanks for stopping by, and taking the time to comment.

  9. Thank you so much Naomi!
    I’m glad you nomitated me for this award 🙂
    I’ll write about it in one of my upcoming posts.
    Hope you are having a great time.
    Greetings from Colombia.
    Pablo.

    • Pablo, you are so welcome and deserving of this. Warm greetings from Washington State!

  10. Congratulations on the award! What a great post, with wonderful stories.

  11. Want to know more about that mystic mountain that we share an affinity with, all her different moods, and how we survive the heights and depths. She erupted on my birthday. Let’s tell the stories. Much love.

    • Dear Rebecca, I had no idea it was your birthday! I have quietly been observing it every year since 1980. I appreciate your stopping by, and look forward to hearing your stories! Love, n

  12. The most awesome list of ‘facts about yourself’ ever published on blog-awardland. 😀

  13. Thanks, Tita. Everyone has this kind of stuff tucked into her past, but it is kind of fun to look at your life and decided what to share. I really appreciate your stopping by, and taking the time to comment.

  14. […] There is a time to make tracks.  I’ve done the seven countries in five weeks thing, kept up a wicked pace, and lived to tell the tale.  I’ve even spent months at a time on the road in an old VW bus, hauling a beat up Apache tent trailer. […]

  15. […] whether to serve from the left or the right, but I could spin a yarn.  I’d already been to 49 states, and had something in common with everyone who sat in my section, wherever they hailed from.  They […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

