Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | April 11, 2012

With the hundredth anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic almost upon us, I decided to raid the archives for this post.

Writing Between the Lines


What is it about the Titanic we find so compelling?  Yes, it was an epic maritime disaster, but it occurred a hundred years ago, and we already know how the story ends.  Still we line up to see the latest movie version and read the newest book, even if it means waiting through forty-two library holds.

It felt like impending disaster when my husband invited me to his soccer association dinner.  Its purpose–to thank board members’ wives and husbands for tolerating their spouses’ hours of service to the association when they could have been home cleaning out the garage.  My preferred gift would’ve been to not have to dress up and go to a fancy restaurant with a bunch of strangers.  I saw icebergs flashing before my eyes, and headed for the lifeboats.

Me:        “I don’t know if I can find a babysitter for Bea.”

Thom:   “She’s seventeen years old.”

View original post 590 more words

Responses

  1. Hi,
    I think it was such a tragedy at the time, so unexpected, after all it was the unsinkable ship, people at the time found it so hard to believe I think that this could of happened. The terrible story that was told from the survivors, and of course the story will stay alive forever.

    • Hi Mags, I’m sure you’re right. I remember hearing the story as a child, and seeing “A Night to Remember” in black and white, with Kenneth Moore and David McCallum. Then I peppered my mother with questions. I was so disappointed when she said that they had never found the spot, and never would. I wish she had lived long enough to see the Titanic discovered! We took the kids to an amazing exhibit about it at the Pacific Science Center. The exhibit helped visitors understand the human side of the tragedy, as well as the technical aspects.

  2. Naomi, where is your book? I laughed out loud when I read your “About” in my search for info on the book. Your honesty really did tickle me. Unlike my Mark Twain quote in my “About” entry.

    I enjoyed this story. I really did. I’m glad you re-posted this one. We forget to look through the interesting back posts on blogs so we miss some good stuff. Did you write more about it?

    • I figured that, with the centennial of the Titanic disaster coming up, it would be an appropriate post, and many of my readers have come on board since I posted this a couple of months back.

      I went back to look at what you wrote in your ‘about’ section–I’d say it was short and sweet and a little bit sassy, which is perfect!

      Thank you for your interest in my books. The Keeper of the Crystal Spring and my other titles can be found on Amazon under that title, or by looking for it under my name.
      http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_tc_2_0?rh=i%3Astripbooks%2Ck%3ANaomi+Baltuck&keywords=Naomi+Baltuck&ie=UTF8&qid=1334277088&sr=1-2-ent&field-contributor_id=B001HPDP6S

      • You are going to laugh at me. I got this book recently titled, “The Keeper of the Crystal Spring” from a secondary seller on Amazon. I wondered why in the world I ordered it. It’s still lying on my kitchen counter waiting for me to solve the mystery and look inside. I forgot I ordered it. Lordy, I’m getting senile.

      • You have a bunch of books! I be gettin’ onto reading Crystal Spring….

      • I hope you like it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

