Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | May 4, 2012

This Versatile Blogger Welcomes You to the Planet Baltuck

Hey!  It’s official!  I’m a Versatile Blogger!  First, thanks to these  folks for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award.   

Mike Reverb is a writer with a great sense of humor, plenty of encouragement and useful tips for his colleagues.

Samir, a citizen of the world, is a creative writer who asks thoughtful questions about the art and craft of writing.

Maggie Myklebust, an American living in Norway,  just published her memoir, Fly Away Home, and her blog is great.

And Now….Welcome to the Planet Baltuck.

Eli–a typical inhabitant.

 Part of accepting the Versatile Blogger Award is that I share my world with you–or at least seven surprising and/or little known facts about myself.  So here they are…

1.  There really is a Planet Baltuck up there in the night sky.  It’s named after my big sister Miriam, the white sheep of the family, for her contributions to science.   Learn more about it in my post, After All.

Bea says, “Don’t go away.  There’s much more.  For instance…”

2.    I am a twin.  My brother Lewis is older by three minutes, but I’m bossier.  He must have been hogging all the room in there, because he weighed much more than I did at birth, but I made up for it by stealing his baby bottle.  We are best buddies now; I need to stay on his good side because he’s a great cook, and desserts are his specialty.

3.   I gave birth to my own critique group.  I’m so dang proud of my kids Eli and Bea.   We share a passion for history, art, travel, storytelling.  Best of all, they are great writers, and I can count on them for an honest insightful critique.  To learn more, check out Bea’s blog for writers, Adventures for the Faint of Heart.

 

4.  I was a guest on Romper Room.  I was on the program as part of a West Coast storytelling tour sponsored by General Mills.  It was October, so I told a spooky story, and BOO!  I made Miss Nancy jump!  Does that make me a Don’t’ Bee?

5.  I saw the filming of Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.  We were on the Yale campus tour four years ago looking at colleges for my son.  It was all very hush-hush, and we didn’t know until we got there what was going on.  Traffic was diverted, curbs were lined with trailers, dressing rooms, antique cars, and camera equipment.  We saw two scenes filmed, including a car scene with old boats from the late forties.  But we couldn’t get close enough to identify the actors.  To learn about my real life encounter with Indiana Jones a.k.a. Harrison Ford, click here.

6.  We came over on the Mayflower.  On my mother’s side, I am descended from four of the original passengers on the Mayflower.  Elizabeth Tilley came over with her parents, John and Joan Tilley, and married John Howland.  He was the only passenger to survive a fall overboard on the journey across the icy Atlantic.  If he hadn’t grabbed a rope trailing behind the ship, I wouldn’t be here today.   Neither would most of America, because almost everyone and his cousin is descended from someone who came over on the Mayflower, whether they know it or not.  To see the ornament we hang on the tree each year to commemorate this event, check out my post, The Christmas Gang.

7.  My favorite candy is Good ‘n’ Plenties.  A sweet burst and a long chew!  When I sent my son Good ‘n’ Plenties in a CARE package, his college roommates teased him for eating ‘old people’s candy.’  But my husband Thom says he read that Good ‘n’ Plenties are a mild aphrodisiac—and then he gave me a box.   I really don’t know about that, but they were very good—both of them.

Now for the best part!    I get to tell you all about these talented and fascinating bloggers as I pass this award on to them.

Island Traveler  is one man’s inspiring journey through life.

Stuff I tell my sister— Good insight into life–and she tells you while telling her best friend, her sister.

I May fly– Lovely photos, humorous and witty.

Susan Wingate—  Award-winning novelist who knows how to herd cats, well, sorta kinda.  But can she write!

Sabrina Garie— A lovely writer who happens to be well-versed in sci-fi.

Saraflower’s Blog— The author of By the Sword, with plenty of  insight and support for writers.

Walking Papers BlogInteresting, insightful, and always intriguing.

Daily Sweet PeasSweet indeed!  Lovely photographs and poetry.

Let’s Cut the Crap--An irreverant view of life after sixty-five.

Sarahpotterwrites— Sarah is a talented musician, artist, and poet.

The ObamaCratMr. J.B. is indeed versatile–he shares recipes, music, poetry, but most of all heartfelt convictions.

Four Blue Hills— A very professional presentation of everything from fun facts to world events.

It’s a Whole New WorldThis is one mom’s everyday life, and what she does to keep smiling.

The Wanderlust Gene— An intelligent and well traveled sixtysomething’s photographs, stories, and insight about life and its adventures.

A Map of Time, a Trip Into the Past-– Fascinating, well told, and often obscure fun facts from history.

Responses

  1. Thank you Ms. Naomi. Congratulations to you, now you have to build an award shelf on your blog.

    • Hi Jueseppi! I really want to post the awards, but I don’t know how. I spent quite some time trying to figure it out, looking for the right button to push. Can you give me a hint? Once I have a basic idea or starting point, I might be able to figure it out. I am learning, but when it comes to technology, it takes me a lot longer than most people.

      • Let me take a look at your page, I’ll be right back.

      • My advice would be to check your blog and see if you can add a tab at the top of the page exactly like your “about” tab. Then you could post all your awards there. I could show you how to do that. Or you can post the awards on your side bar where you have your “recent post” “ARCHIVES” and “CATEGORIES” listed.

        Do you know how to add things to your side bar? Do you have a way in your theme dashboard to access widgets?

    • Hi Jueseppi, thanks so much for taking the time to check this out. I have a place on the sidebar for widgets–it lists recent posts, archives, categories, meta, and follow. I finally figured out how to establish a ‘follow’ button, but couldn’t figure out how to post an award with just those choices for widgets on the sidebar.

      • Ok here’s what you do…in your list of available widgets, you will find a widget for “images’. Drag this “image” over to your side bar and drop it in a space, it will open automatically. There will be a place for the name or title of the image, and a place to put the URL or the award image. Your Versatile Blogger Award has a url image address and you get this by going to any of the blogs of the folks who nominated you for the award, right clicking your mouse on the award image, scroll down to “copy image url”. Then go back to your widget and simply paste the image url in the space where it goes. Click center for Image Alignment, and make the image 150 by 150 in the image width and height fields. Presto chango…you are done.

        You do this for each award.

        I know it seems like a lot, but as you do it, you will see how easy it is.

        Let me know if you have trouble, or it works out

      • Thank you! You are a hero! I will surely have this posted by tomorrow night. I’ve been working on the computer so long today my eyes are crossed. But with these detailed instructions, I know I can do this. You are such a dear, J.B.!

      • Let me know if you run into any problems, and this is what blogging is all about, helping one another.

      • 😉 Let me know how it goes.

      • I will. I didn’t ask before, as I wasn’t eager to proclaim my epic ignorance about simple technological matters throughout the blogosphere. But,hey,now I have nothing to hide and soon I’ll have a nice new shelf for my shiny new awards! Thanks again! Sweet dreams.

      • 😉

  2. This is an enchanting avenue to getting to know you better, Naomi. There is so much I really like in this post, including the photographs taken in black light, that I won’t itemize all the things I loved about it, but it is a great pleasure getting to know you better. Thank you.

    • Thank you. I feel that I am getting to know you a little better too.

      We took those photos on New Year’s Eve. We had a sci-fi party, with guests arriving as representatives from other planets. The buffet table was out of this world!

  3. Congratulations Naomi! I’m very impressed that there is a planet Baltuck.:)
    The best I ever did was a tiny river…

    • A river? Really? I want to hear the story! Thanks for stopping by.

      • My partner was doing a very boring job, mapping catchments in Gippsland. There were lots of tiny rivers with no names, so he made up a few of his own. As those maps are still kicking around somewhere, I guess that counts!

      • Heck, ya! Congratulations to you! I’ve seen catalogs where you can order a section of waterway and they will put it on the face of a clock, special order. I think you should get one of those with your very own river on it.

  4. Brilliantly done Naomi, congratulations! How cool to be a Mayflower descendant and have such incredibly talented siblings! Now off to check out Bea’s blog and some of those other links. AND to find out if Good & Plenties are available here 🙂

    • Ha! You let me know if you can’t find them, Madhu, and I’ll send you a box! My favorite post on Bea’s blog–oh, there are some real good ones–but who can resist one titled “The Bitch is Back”? Thanks for visiting–and I’m serious about the G ‘n’Ps!

      • Thanks for the offer 🙂 Shall request my daughter who is in the US right now to get me some! Shall check out that post of Bea’s. Intriguing title!

  5. You are funny! And I LOVE Good-n-Plenties!! Will have to dig some up. Thank you for nominating me.
    Have a great weekend.
    Suzanne

    • My pleasure, Suzanne. You certainly deserve it. I always look forward to your posts.

  6. Congratulations Naomi & all the very best 🙂

    • Thank you, Kavi. All the very best to you too. And thanks for stopping by.

  7. First of all congratulations on three nominations!
    I loved your post!
    Planet Baltuck, twins!, your lovely daughters, Indian Jones, the Mayflower, Good & Plenty and especially Romper Room (where housewives sent their children before daycare existed) I’m actually old enough to remember that.

    • Thank you for your nomination! And for all those nice things you said. And, oh, yes, I remember watching Romper Room as a pre-schooler.

  8. Now that’s what I call interesting facts.

    • Thank you, Tilly! Between this and my Mt. St. Helens award post, I’m using up all my fun facts! I’ll have to mine deeper for the next one.

  9. Way to go! Congratulations. -S

  10. Congrats! And that is pretty cool about the Mayflower. My Mom’s side came over on that ship as well.

    • Do you know which passenger she is descended from? We could be cousins!

    • Thank you, Susan. And to you too! I hope all these folks pay a visit to your website and check out the great books you have written.

  11. Congrats on the win, Naomi, it is deserved. And thanks for nominating me.

  12. Congratulations and thank you for the shout out. I love the family photographs and isn’t it uncanny the resemblance between your mom and dad and your daughters.
    Have a great weekend, Nikki

  13. now i can’t get the good n plenty theme song out of my head. congrats!

    • He had an engine and he sure had fun, he used Good ‘n’ Plenty candy to make his train run. Charlie says, “I love my Good ‘n’ Plenty!” Charlie says, “It really rings the bell!” Charlie says, “I love my Good ‘n’ Plenty, don’t know any other candy that I love so well!”

      Mmmm. Maybe it really IS old people’s candy! I don’t think I’ve heard that song for decades! Now guess what I”VE got stuck in my head!

      Thanks a lot for stopping by. I hope you are well.

      • Oh my, how could I not have known there was a song? What is the tune?

      • Believe me, Lee, when you hear it, it will ring a bell. I’ll sing it to you over the phone.

  14. Naomi, wonderful post. I love the idea of Planet Baltuck and the shares were creative and dare I say, versatile (LOL). Thanks for the nomination. I am looking forward to joining the game.

    • Thanks so much, Sabrina. You deserve it, What a great job you did with the A-Z Challenge. I hope my friends will look it up in your April archives and enjoy it too. And I look forward to learning more about you!

  15. I always enjoy it when you write about family trivia. the pictures of your kids are endearing. I forwarded your link to a friend who is a yoga student of mine. For some reason, earlier this week, I had occasion to mention the bit about the Mayflower, so you came to my rescue with timely evidence!

    • Hi Lee,
      Thanks so much for stopping by. The photo with both kids was taken after the soggiest day you can imagine at Iguazu, spent in squishy shoes and disintegrating plastic rain gear, but they were both still smiling and clowning for the camera. When they were little kids on a road trip, I didn’t have to entertain them. I’d just throw the camera into the back seat and let them mug for each other.

      It’s funny you should have just been talking about the Mayflower. Glad I could back you up there. I also do special orders. (Just kidding) There is an author in my writing group who is descended from John Howland, which makes us very distant cousins. Kind of fun to think about.

      Hey, thanks for checking and taking the time to comment. I hope to see you one of these days. Love, n

  16. Hi,
    Congrats on your award, and I love the way you have done your post, the pictures are fantastic. 😀

    • Thanks, Mags. It was fun to put together. I appreciate your stopping by.

  17. Naomi,
    I know of no one more deserving of all those awards than you. I do not tell you enough how much I enjoy your blog. I need to figure out how to manage that part of my blogging.
    A wonderful thing putting all those pics up. The older the better too. I think of what a great series one could do with old family pictures. So many stories they tell.
    Take care and God bless my friend.
    xxox Renee

    • Dear Nae, you are so sweet. Thank you for your kind words. I don’t know how you manage to keep up your strength and your spirits–I don’t expect anything from you, Nae. It is good to know that you enjoy the blog, though. I am always thinking of you, my friend, and sending loving thoughts your way, Naomi

  18. What an entertaining and intimate response to the ‘revelations’ portion of your thank you speech! Congratulations on your nomination, congratulations on your post, and thank you so much for including my blog in your list of nominees. I’m most grateful for your support and the positive feedback you’ve given me. As soon as I get back to Colombo I’ll have to explore your other nominees’ bogs – they look very interesting. Thanks dear, and well done on your lovely blog.

    • Thank you so much! No hurry or pressure to respond–it was a while before I could get to it myself. I have so enjoyed your blog, and look forward to each new post. Have a lovely trip, and a safe journey home.

  19. Congratulations to you! You are a dear for nominating me. Thanks so much! Now if I can just figure out the particulars of what to do! lol! (I am very challenged when it comes to technology and horse-shoes, for that matter 😉 ) I loved the details you shared and the pics are awesome. And I learned a bit extra about my favorite candies “good and plenties” lol!

  20. Loved reading all about you and your family 😉 We don’t get Good’n’Plenties in Suth Africa, but I’ll look out for them when I go back to Florida! Congrats on your award. 😉

    • Thank you so much, and thanks for the follow! I have been really enjoying your blog–so varied, I love your photos, and I love your voice. I look forward to following you too.

  21. I remember reading about the fun and fascinating facts about yourself in another post that you made about another award. Well, beam me up, Scotty, because Planet Baltuck just outdid the entry in the Guinness Book of World Records. 😉 You have such wonderful stories to tell, Naomi, a life being lived well AND a lovely family.

    • Dear Tita, that is so sweet! I’m going to have to really fish for fun facts for the next time around!

  22. Naomi, I’ve just done my ‘Versatile Blogger Award’ post. Thanks, again, for having nominated me for this award. It’s much appreciated 🙂

    • Hi Sarah, well done. And thanks for saying such nice things about me! I look forward to visiting the blogs you have recommended. I hope you are all recovered from your surgery. Warmly, Naomi

  23. Congrats on the award! You are extremely versatile and every time I visit, I’m surprised by what I read (but always in a good way). 🙂

    • I am really going to have to start digging deeper for fun facts since we bloggers dole them out seven at a time! I really appreciate your stopping by, Kourtney, and this post was the best example of how to connect your readers to older posts they might have missed, going back to what we were talking about earlier.

      In my March Archives are three more award posts I’d been saving up. To make them more interesting for my readers, I try to either incorporate one story, or toss out little teasers that I intend to turn into full grown posts later. Pandora’s Box and the Mt. St. Helens stories started out as fun facts on a blog award. Oh, and when you post them, it’s good to give the blog award a little twist so readers know to expect something a little different.

      Some bloggers consider the awards more work than is worth it, but I love them because they are a lovely acknowledgement and connection in the blogging community, and you can also use them as an opportunity to highlight your golden oldies.

      Thanks so much for visiting. BTW, I didn’t dream about Hint of Lime Tostitos, but it’s lucky I had none in the house or I might have cracked open a bag for breakfast!

  24. […] Some of our discoveries were due to fools’ luck.  On an evening stroll we stumbled upon this little coffee shop where in 1620, according to its proprietors, America began.  (It was the place where the Mayflower was hired to carry pilgrims to America. Using that logic, the soda fountain where Mr. Disney popped the question to the future Mrs. Disney is the place where Disneyland began.)  Nevertheless we took a photo for future reference, since we have a personal history and interest in the Mayflower. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

