Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | September 22, 2012

I am re-blogging this post from my archives–it seemed a good fit for Jake’s Sunday: People.

Writing Between the Lines

Last May, while traveling in France, my sister and I went to Giverny to visit Monet’s Garden.  The line to enter was horrendous, and once we got past the ticket booth, we became part of the swarm of tourists overrunning his house and garden.  We must have heard a dozen different languages spoken, people from all over the globe had come to see for themselves the inspiration for Monet’s most famous paintings.

It was eye candy, a stunning profusion of color!   But instead of the rare and exotic flora I expected, all the flowers were, well, your regular garden variety.  Irises, roses, tulips, pansies, alyssum, forget-me-nots…nothing I don’t grow in my own garden.  Yet they were artfully arranged by height, texture, and color to maximize the effect.  And after all, they were in Monet’s Garden.

I wanted to capture at least the illusion of solitude and serenity, and to…

View original post 195 more words

Responses

  1. Gorgeous Garden though. Splendidly colourful.

    • Yes, it was really lovely. The eye opener was that this splendid garden could consist entirely of the type of flowers grown in my own backyard.

  2. […] https://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2012/09/22/924/ […]

  3. like watercolor paintings 🙂

  4. We too queued for hours but it was heaven once inside.

    • Well worth the wait! Thank you for sharing your story.

  5. Monet has always been one of my favorite painters. I “discovered” him during the angst of adolescence. I think the blurred edges, how the colors ran into each other, how nothing was quite perfect, really spoke to me as a teenager. I would have loved to see Monet’s Garden. That really needs to be on my list of must-dos–thanks for reminding me! 🙂

    • What an interesting perception of Monet! Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your insight.

  6. what a garden though

    • Oh, yes! Thanks so much for stopping by.

  7. So worth the wait! Thank you for sharing!

    • Hi Len! I really appreciate your stopping by, and taking the time to comment.

  8. Thanks, Naomi, for sharing these lovely photographs. They make me want to be there, walking in those beautiful gardens!
    I’m following your blog now and hope you’ll come and visit mine: http://viviankirkfield.wordpress.com/2012/09/23/sunday-post-people-who-are-the-most-important-people-in-your-life/

    • Hi Vivian,
      Thanks so much for the follow. I look forward to visiting your blog.

  9. These pictures are beautiful. Monet is one of my all time favourites. Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

    • Dear Dianne,
      I really love Monet too, but it was a special treat for my sister Constance to go there. As an artist, it was almost a pilgrimage for her. Thank you so much for stopping by!

  10. Monet’s Garden is indeed a visual inspiration. Vibrant colors that lights up our world!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by the garden, and sharing your thoughtful comments.


Leave a Reply

Categories

