Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | October 5, 2012

Favorite Place in the Whole Wide World

Our family has enjoyed many adventures.  We have discovered so many special places along the way.

Hot…

…cold.

High…

…low.

Near…


…far.

Silly…

…and sweet.

It’s impossible to look back and choose one favorite place from so many golden ones.

Whether I’m high or low, whether they’re near or far, I hold them within my heart.  In that place, whatever happens, I know we can be together in a heartbeat.

And that is my favorite place in the whole wide world.

All words and images copyright 2012 Naomi Baltuck

Responses

  1. kudos with a whole lot of love – lucky you!

    • Dear Lesley, thanks so much! I’m bracing myself for an empty nest!

  2. Beautiful post!
    Love the “High” photo, is so amazing!!
    Have a great weekend Naomi!

    • Thank you, Pablo. It was at Haleakala on Maui, but it felt a little like being on Mt. Olympus!

  3. Beautiful, Naomi! The best place of all.

    • Thank you, Cathryn. I know you feel the same way–I loved reading about you and your family in Australia!

  4. I believe I’ve made a similar comment last time but I’ll do so again. I love the way you have used the photos and words for a more vivid ‘story’. Lots of pictures; few words; dynamic effect!

    • Dear Tess, thank you! I have to combat my love of words, and trust the photos to say what I want to say. Thank you so much for your visit.

  5. beautiful story, places and family you are blessed!

    • Thank you, Len. I know that big changes are underway as the kids grow up. With the kids moving away from home, I am going to have to get my husband to mug for the camera!

      • Good Luck with that, have you thought of more in the way of nature? LOL You take beautiful photos I am sure whatever you undertake after the kids leave will be just as beautiful!

      • Thank you, Len. I do love to take nature shots, but I learned something from going through my dad’s pictures long after he was gone. He took many interesting shots of places, but we didn’t know where they were taken, and they hadn’t any true meaning for us, except an appreciation for his good eye. It is the people pictures that we loved and looked for. But I know whatever happens, we will be okay. I will take things one step at a time, and for now, we are able to plan trips that are still interesting enough to keep the kids coming back!

      • Precious moments making precious memories..that’s what family is all about!

  6. Where were you in the spelunking photo? They’re all great, but that one piqued my interest. 🙂

    • This was a trip to Country Boy Mine in Colorado, where we were under a thousand feet of earth, but there was no spelunking involved. Thanks for your visit!

  7. Great choices of images Naomi ,I really love your favorite spot there thanks for sharing my friend 🙂

    • Thank you, Jake! I appreciate the inspiration and motivation you lend us with your Sunday Post.

  8. Lovely!! and so very cute!

  9. Lovely!!!

    • Thanks for your visit, and for taking the time to comment!

  10. Such a warm post Naomi 🙂

    • Thank you, Kavi. It is always good to hear from you.

  11. Great photos. The one up high–were you on the space station? 😉 What a view!

    • Hi Patti,
      It felt like we were on top of the world looking down on the earth. But that photo was taken from the top of Haleakala, the volcano on Maui. Thanks for your visit!

  12. This post shows exactly how much you and your family have enjoyed your travels. Your lucky!
    ps
    Love the shot from the side car mirror 🙂

    • Thank you, Maggie. So many shots are just being in the right place at the right time–being struck by a visual when you happen to have your camera and be in a position to snap a lucky shot!

  13. You know, I’m not a religious person at all, but I can’t help but use the word “blessed” to describe your adventures with your family. I wish that I was able to travel around and enjoy beautiful places with wonderful people the way you are now.

    I’m sure you’re kids will never forget these experiences.

    And man, do those cupcakes look good!

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Dear Mike, you are very kind. After my mom was widowed, she used to drive us around the country in a beat up VW bus hauling an Apache tent-trailer. She took us to the 49 states that you could drive to. (I had to get to Hawaii on my own) That was such a treasured and formative experience for me, that I wanted to pass that on to our kids.

      We live relatively modestly. We don’t watch TV, and don’t have cable. We drive our twenty year old cars into the ground, and often shop at thrift stores for our clothing. But travel has been our indulgence, and it has been really special to share that with each other, and with the kids.

      We are twice blessed. Once, because we are, and twice because we know it.

      Thank you so much for your really sweet and thoughtful comment.

  14. 🙂 lovely.

    • Thank you, C.C. So good to hear from you!

  15. What amazing memories you have…The more you travel the more favourite spots you notch up along the way!!

  16. The trouble with you always being the one holding the camera for all the beautiful photographs, is that we never see you 😉 How about a photo shoot of you in some wonderful location, with one of your lovely family members holding the camera?

    • Hi Sarah,
      I am happy with that arrangement, but once in awhile one of the kids will snatch the camera and snap a photo of me. There are a few here and there, but I’m happier behind the scenes.

      Thanks for the visit, and thanks for the lovely comment.

  17. many wonderful experiences you are sharing here.

    • Thank you, Rosa! I’m so glad you can come and share them with me.

  18. Loved the photo essay of a very happy and fun family!

  19. Loved your happy family snaps, Naomi. 🙂

    • Thanks, ad. I appreciate your stopping by.

  20. I love that your family is your favorite place to be and I love the way you told this story.

    • Thank you, Carol! I know you feel the same way about your family.

  21. I love how bright colors are such a part of your life. That alone shows us just what warm, vital force you are. Lovely post.

    • You are too kind, Sabrina! Thanks for stopping by.

  22. Simply beautiful, prose and pictures alike.

  23. Thank you for sharing your family happy moments! Beautiful, Naomi!

    • Hi Amy,

      I appreciate your stopping by, and taking the time to share.

  24. Loved them all and it brings to mind the saying “a family that plays together, stays together”

    • I love that saying! We certainly do like to play! Thanks for your visit,

  25. Some wonderful adventures That High photo is the best one, it is walk in cloud, amazing..

    • It was pretty wild. Thanks for stopping by.

  26. oh so true…..love the photos!!!!

  27. Lovely post, Naomi. I hope my family can look back at our adventures in the same way some day.

    • Hi Debra,
      No worries there! Your kids are lucky ducks to have such a fun mom. Just ask Thor!

  28. Love this post, and the pictures are wonderful!

  29. Your photos are priceless. 😉

    • Thank you, Elizabeth! I really appreciate your very kind response!

    • Thank you, Elizabeth. I have had so much fun learning how to use this visual element to tell a story.

  30. What a beautiful post, Naomi! 😀

    • Hi Dianne,
      Thank you so much! It is always good to hear from you. I appreciate your encouragement.

  31. A fun and heartwarming post.

  32. You have a really happy family. I am happy for you! How’s your daughter doing at uni? She’s studying hard, I suppose?

    Subhan Zein

    • Hi Subhan! Thank you for your sweet comments. Bea is settling in to school, and getting really involved. She plays with the marching band, has joined the outdoor club so that she will be able to learn how to snowshoe, she was accepted in the Shakespeare Company as a technical assistant with costumes and set design. She is also taking lessons to become–I’m not sure, but I think it’s a campus tour guide. I think she is even getting some classwork and school homework done! Thank you so much for asking. I sure do miss her, but am very glad that she seems to be fitting in and enjoying herself, making new friends.

  33. Naomi,
    I have subscribed to your blog but for some reason your posts don’t appear in my email. Not sure what I do about this! They aren’t going to spam- I checked.

    • oh, just saw below… hope this works.

    • Hi there, CG! Did you find the “Follow Button on the side of the blog? I have my fingers crossed. I love to hear form you!

  34. Hi Naomi! Yep, nothing beats travelling and being with family.

    On that note, I have nominated you for the Adventurous Blogger Award. Details are found here: http://czechtheflip.com/2012/10/11/are-you-adventurous/

    • Dear Grace,
      Thank you so much for nominating me for this award. I feel very honored, and look forward to exploring the other blogs you have recommended.

  35. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and
    you’re just extremely magnificent. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is actually a terrific web site.

  36. Agree with you 100%! beautiful words and photos Naomi.

    • Thank you, Madhu. So nice to have you back. I look forward to hearing about all your adventures!


Leave a Reply

Categories

