Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | January 30, 2013

Lucky Seven Time!

Sabrina Garie, author of Fires of Justice, tagged me (sometime ago) for Lucky Seven. Be sure to check out her blog, Sabrina Garie: Life’s a Journey, Keep It Spicy.  She is funny, intelligent and, yes, spicy!

So what’ s Lucky Seven?   Here’s how it works.

*  Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript

*  Go to line 7

*  Post on your blog the next 7 lines or sentences

*  Tag 7 other people to do the same

 (To help set the scene, here is a photo of my long suffering mother and me.)

This will help put in context the following excerpt from my manuscript, Real Troopers:  Crystal Logan was raised to believe being a good wife and mother meant always putting your family first.  When a cancer scare triggers a Middling Life Crisis, Crystal finally rebels at setting up Girl Scout camp in the rain.  She and her Girl Scout co-leaders go rogue, and take a field trip to Italy, without children, husbands, or permission slips.  At a castle in Tuscany they meet Walter, amateur astronomer, poet, and retired F.B.I. agent.  Crystal falls hard, and has some tough choices to make.

“Sorry,” he said, laughing softly.  “I wasn’t expecting company.”  While he cleared the clutter, Crystal flashed a helpless grimace in the direction of her girlfriends, still crouched and hiding  in the roadside ditch.  

    “That’s better,” said the stranger, stepping aside. 

      Crystal had never gotten into a car with a total stranger.  She could hear the bloodcurdling echoes of her parents’ voices screaming in alarm.  What the hell, she thought.  Cancer would probably get her before this guy would.  A remarkably liberating thought.  Crystal smiled up at him, and he smiled back.  This must be the year of living dangerously.  The click of the stranger’s car door behind her sealed her fate.

(To see a photo of Walter in the Wild, click here.)

Now here are the next Lucky Seven winners.  Honestly, I don’t care which seven lines they choose to share.  I’m just looking forward to reading their work, and introducing them to my friends.  If I’ve included an extra writer or two, I doubt anyone will mind, because that’s one or two more writers to discover and connect with.  Happy tales!

Sarah Potter, sarahpotterwrites

Kourtney Heinz, Kourtney Heinz’s Journal

Beatrice, Adventures for the Faint of Heart

Sara Flower, Sara Flower Writes

Kasia James, Writer’s Block

T.W. Dittmer, Self-Published Author

Paula Acton, Scribblings of an Aspiring Author

Maggie Myklebust, flyawayhomebook

Char, Joy in the Moment

Because this is all about wordcrafting, I will also include a splendid poet, the icing on the cake, The Poet By Day, Jamie Dedes.

All words and images copyright 2013 Naomi Baltuck

Responses

  1. I’m hooked with the story. What happened next? I believe their is a bit of Crystal in all of us. Living dangerously is exciting. Perhaps it’s even a way to feel alive. Most of us go to a monotonous cycle of work-family and sometimes forget that little adventurer in us who once had a dream to travel and explore. Perhaps we can learn from crystal, maybe in a less risky way to follow our feet and heart before it’s too late. Whew!

    • Dear Island Traveler,
      You are such a kind person. You are thoughtful, and take the time to really think about things, and you always look for the best in people and in situations, and reserve judgement. I think you project your own goodness into the world. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on this post, and on Real Troopers.

  2. Your story sounds interesting!

    • Hi Chantel,
      Thank you. It’s a fun story with a lot of humor, as well as the tough stuff. Although there is a romantic thread in the story, it’s not romance as much a woman’s journey to find her path, after losing her way.

  3. Intriguing excerpt! Definitely makes me want to spend more time with Crystal. 🙂 I accept the challenge…will post next week! 🙂

    • Thanks, Kourtney. I’m looking forward to reading your excerpt.

  4. Oh, gotta point you toward my 5th grade Girl Scout photo…http://scillagrace.com/2012/03/12/happy-centennial-girl-scouts-of-america/
    Yup, my Mom was a leader, and so was I (Daisies and Brownies). Love the “Girl Scouts gone wild” story idea!

    • Hi Scilla,
      This was a great post. You were an adorable Girl Scout.

      I was a leader for many years–two troops at once–and one of the things I noticed that hadn’t changed from the time I was a Girl Scout–the girls keep flying up in the ranks, while the lives of the leaders still fly under the radar. The girls haven’t a clue, most of the girls’ parents haven’t a clue. The leaders’ retreat each year was always full of surprises–so many good women trying to do the right thing, each one with a story–and those were just the stories they were willing to share aloud.

  5. Your story sounds very intriguing, Naomi. Well done 😀

    • Thank you, Dianne. I’ll keep you posted.

  6. “Each one of you shrinking each other with every word. Casting spells that destroy instead of create. That’s what magic is for you know?

    “Magic? Nobody’s doing magic.” Skip snickered, “I told you she was crazy.”

    “Fool! It’s all magic!” Sallie’s eyes blazed. “Everything you let fly from your lips is a spell. Every thought you let dance in your mind affects the air. All kinds of things move through the air. Thought is only one of them. It’s all frequencies. And you think you’re so smart, hurling weapons at people you love and don’t even know it. Killing them from the inside. Just stop it.”

    • HI Katrina,
      You have a very intriguing story there. I wish you great success with your writing. Thanks for the follow. I look forward to following your progress as well.

  7. Thanks for the game, Naomi. And thanks for your engaging excerpt!

    I want more … 😉

  8. I can’t wait to read more!! 😉

    • I’ll let you know, Paula. Thanks for taking the time to read, and share a comment.

      • Looking forward to it! (Your posts never disappoint!)

  9. What a great post.

    • Thanks for the follow. I look forward to following your blog too.Thank you! I appreciate your stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  10. Loved going back to your trip to England with Bea – a wonderful mother/daughter trip full of lifetime memories shared by just you two, very special – especially finding Walter … 🙂

    • Thank you! I had fun revisiting that trip too. It was very special. I sure appreciate your visit, and taking the time to comment.

  11. I am rooting for Crystal. In most such stories, the stranger always has a sexy accent. Does Walter? The guy in the tube did look like he might 😀 Can’t wait to see how it pans out 🙂

    • Walter’s accent is distinctly Midwestern American. Thank you for making me smile, Madhu.

      • I was hoping for French, Naomi 😦

  12. Thank you for visiting my blog! I hope you enjoyed. Please feel free to keep in touch! As will I !

    • Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate the follow, and look forward to following you as well.

      • 🙂

  13. What a creative plot! Definitely has me brought in already. And the photo is priceless. I’m going to have to tag you with something else as I want to see more of the story.

  14. Hi Sabrina,
    Thanks for stopping by, and for your infinite patience. I’m sorry it took me so long to get around to this! I appreciate your generous comments.

  15. A clever challenge, Naomi.
    I love the photo. It’s wonderful. What a little cutie you are.

    I just finished a poem about my mom and summer camp, so it was funny to pop over here and see this.

    Be well. Happy February. 🙂

    • Thank you, Jamie. I hope you will post the poem–I look forward to reading it.

      • Thank you! I will think about it. Generally don’t do challenges anymore. Have so much screaming in my head to get written and about two months of poems already in the hopper. Either way, I will enjoy and support the work of others.

        Hugs!

      • And hugs to you too, dear Jamie!

      • 🙂

      • I’ll do it. I just realized I can post it on my Brooklyn blog. Back at you soon ..
        …. and thanks! This is fun.

      • I’m so glad. I always look forward to reading your poetry. I thought about one of your last messages, about letting go and not worrying about agents, publishers, etc. and I thought about how much the world would be missing out on. Your work reminds me sometimes of Mary Oliver. I wonder what would be involved in e-publishing a collection of your poetry. Just a thought, and I know it’s probably more than you want to think about right now. But you are of that caliber, Jamie

      • Thanks for your thoughts. We will be publishing some of my work next year. Appreciate the support.

        Naomi, you are going to receive an invitation sometime within a day or two to officially be a contributor to “Into the Bardo.” You don’t have to create anything new. You will have limited access to the blog, but I will have no access to you. Once you receive the invit, email me at jamiededes@gmail.com with “Bardo” in the subject line. I hope you’ll say yes. I think your contributions (I would welcome 2-4 a month) would truly enrich the experience for all.

      • Thank you, Jamie. I look forward to hearing from you. I don’t know what I do that might be an appropriate contribution, but I would welcome this connection and would be happy to contribute in any way you think would be appropriate.
        Warmly,
        Naomi

  16. What a great story line.. So interesting I want to read more!!

    • Thank you, thank you! I just finished that manuscript, and now I am working to get it out into the light of day.

  17. Sounds like a very interesting story.

    • Thank you, Shimon. I so appreciate your taking the time to read it, and to share your thoughts.

  18. That’s an interesting ‘teaser’. I’d like to see more.

    • Thank you–I have finally finished the manuscript and am currently marketing it. Fingers crossed! I loved writing women’s contemporary fiction, but am excited about jumping once again into the Middle Ages with a history mystery.

      • Good luck. Some of my favorite reads have been history mysteries.

  19. Novel idea, Naomi.

  20. […] lovely Naomi Baltuck has tagged me in a round of Lucky Seven. I adore her blog and her writing so I’m delighted to […]

  21. Tuscany, an enigmatic man, and women (not ingenues, thank heavens) wanting to have the time of their lives….now I am intrigued.

    Will you be making it available in digital form, too, Naomi? (New book releases sometimes take forever to get over here so I’ve grown increasingly reliant on my ereader.) 🙂

  22. Hi Tita,
    This is definitely a story about grownup women looking back at their happily ever after, with course correction in mind. It’s a serious book with a lot of humor.

    I’m surely going to have this available as an e-book, although I will have hard copies too. I’m waiting to hear back from a couple of traditional publishers in New York, but since my last novel was published (Viking Penguin), the publishing world has changed. I might test the waters with this book and venture into the world of e-publishing, Amazon, indie publishing, etc.
    Thanks so much for your interest, Tita. I will keep you posted.

  23. Love the description of the book and then the 7 lines made me want more.

    • Oh, thank you! That is good to know!

  24. I only just realised you’ve tagged me here, as I’m very behind with my blog reading. Thank you, Naomi, for thinking of me.

    I’ve not arrived at Pg 77 in my current manuscript yet (only at Pg 33 just now), as have ended up having to do more research than I expected! What do you want me to post? Something from Pg 7 instead?

    I love your novel extract. You’ve managed in a few words to make me want to read the whole story. Keep writing. I see a bestseller there. Yay 🙂

    • Dear Sarah,

      Thank you for your generous words. This is really the public debut for Real Troopers (although it was a finalist for the Pacific Northwest Writers Conference Literary Contest). In any case, it’s good hear!

      Something from page 7 of your manuscript would be great, but as I mentioned in my post, the idea of this award is to introduce an author and a work to new audiences, so I’m not concerned about which seven lines you choose; I’m just looking forward to reading them. Best wishes in your writing, and your life, and your writing life!

  25. There’s me not reading things right — square eyes from too many hours in front of the computer today — I see you’ve said it can be something from Pg 7 instead. I’ve just checked out my manuscript, and it’s a section written in the 2nd person present, which, taken out of context, some might find disorientating.

    Okay, I’ll get onto writing my Lucky Seven Time post as soon as possible.

    • Pick whatever lines you choose to share, Sarah. I’m looking forward to it!

  26. You are so too cute! And your darling mother, oh my. Love the excerpt – I want to read that book, heck, I want to live that life! Congrats on Lucky 7.

  27. Thank you, Anne, and thanks too for the encouragement. I hope it won’t be too long before Real Troopers is ready to roll. See you soon!

  28. Hello Naomi!

  29. What precisely genuinely encouraged you to compose “Lucky Seven Time!

    | Writing Between the Lines”? Iseriously adored the post!
    Thanks a lot ,Deanna

  30. […] I’ve been tagged by Naomi Baltuck of Writing Between the Lines. For those who don’t know Naomi, she’s a most talented storyteller and photographer, and I just love her blog. Do check out her lucky seven post, as well as some of her other awesome words and pictures.  https://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/lucky-seven-time/  […]

  31. All done! Thanks again, Naomi, for tagging me 🙂
    http://sarahpotterwrites.wordpress.com/2013/02/15/lucky-seven-time/

  32. At last: Lucky Seven Time! going up tonight at 8 p.m. PST. on The Poet by Day. Thanks for the invite, Naomi. It was fun and will continue to be as I take a peek at what tagged others will offer in response.

    Be well and Happy Sunday …
    Jamie

    • Hi Jamie,
      I am really looking forward to this.
      Best wishes to you too,
      Naomi

      • This was fun! Now I look forward to seeing what the others post. I just reopened “Bardo” … and slowly catching up. Back with you soon on that one too. 🙂

  33. […] participate in Naomi Baltuck’s (Writing Between the Lines, Life From a Writer’s POV) Lucky Seven Time! tag challenge. I’d recently established a no-tag, no meme, no award, limited-commenting policy […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

