Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | February 3, 2013

Shadowplay

What is life?  The flash of a firefly in the night, the breath of a buffalo in the wintertime.  It is the little shadow which runs across the grass and loses itself in the sunset.  –Native American Blackfeet–


Every man has a different idea of beautiful…best to take the gesture, the shadow of the branch, and let the mind create the tree.–Wm. Faulkner

A man cannot jump over his own shadow–Yiddish proverb

Beware the dog–it’s shadow will not bite.  –Danish proverb–

Worry gives a small thing a big shadow.  –Swedish proverb–

If you stand straight, you need not fear a crooked shadow.–Chinese proverb–

Observe carefully, and you will find wisdom even in the shadows. –African proverb–

One can live within the shadow of an idea without grasping it.–Elizabeth Bowen–

The shadow is often more interesting than the object itself.–Ellen Thompson–

There are dark shadows on earth, but its lights are stronger in the contrast.–Charles Dickens–

Imagination is the real and eternal world, of which this vegetable universe is but a faint shadow.–Wm. Blake (1757-1827)

No hill is without gravestones, no valley without shadows. –South African proverb–

Like our shadows, our wishes lengthen as our sun declines.–Edward Young–

Count your nights by stars, not shadows; count your life with smiles, not tears.–Italian proverb–

All images c2013 Naomi Baltuck

Click here for more interpretations of The Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadows.

Click here to see Turkey, a Land of Light and Shadows.

Responses

  1. This was so nicely done, Naomi!

    • Thank you, Elyse. I had fun putting it together.

  2. This is fantastic Naomi so much thought and love put into the shadows. (the shadow is often more interesting…) In particular the one of the people with only shadows seen is a work of art. I would be tempted to play with it and produce an abstract piece with it. Congratulations on nailing this. NOW why aren’t you Freshly Pressed?

    • You are too sweet, Lesley! Thank you so much for your very generous words and thoughts.

  3. Awesome quote, Terrific photos. Fantastic shadows. What’s not to love here? Nothing.

    • Thank you, Tess. This was a fun one for me. I sure appreciate your visit.

  4. You did a great job pairing the quotes and photos. Nicely done!

    • Hi Patti,
      Thank you. Shadows are so fascinating, and there is no shortage of material to draw upon. I don’t do sudoku or crossword puzzles, but pairing photos with the right words gives me the same sense of accomplishment.

  5. Wonderful shadow play. Well done. I like the quotes, too. We’ve been shooting shadows at school. Inspiring.

    • Thanks, Ruth. What a fun subject to choose to photograph. So many possibilities! Thanks for the visit.

  6. stunning photographs and beautiful words – nicely done

  7. All amazing shots Naomi, but what are the chances of catching the shadow of your plane on the ground??? Incredible 🙂

    • Hi Madhu,
      That was a very lucky shot. I was SO glad I had my camera with me!

  8. Naomi – so many of these are so good! Excellent pairing of quotes and photos – especially like the shot with “Worry gives a small thing a big shadow” and I love the gate photo. Great post.

    • Oh, Lynne, thanks for taking the time to comment. I wasn’t sure people would see and connect the two halves of a VERY long shadow.

  9. lovely quotes; beautiful pictures

  10. This was great! I love the picture of the shadow of the tree – actually, all of the pictures were great! Well done! 🙂

    • Thank you, Becky. I sure appreciate your visit, and your taking the time to share your thoughts.

  11. I love these quotes, Naomi. My favourite is “Worry gives a small thing a big shadow” – so true.

    • Thank you, Dianne! It’s fun to know which ones strike people a certain way. That is one that I particularly liked too.

  12. Loved all the Shadow play and the proverbs that fit so well with each one.

  13. Brilliant gallery – my pick is the airplane shadow .. you and your camera is working well together.

    • Thanks so much. I really like that one a lot–the colors all came together, too, purely by chance.

      • They where all good, but that was so unique. Good job.
        Naomi – can I ask you to check my little sweet thing out … and maybe vote for it – http://rodposse.com/2013/02/04/14th-challenger-qutie/ – maybe you already done it.

      • If I “like” it on the site, does that count as voting for it? If so, I have happily done so. I looked for a ballot box or some other sign of or link to officially vote, and couldn’t find one. So I liked it, and hope that will count. It is adorable.

      • No, you’re right … it’s only LIKE you click after you used the link. Thank you so much … and he are so adorable .. or maybe it’s a she .. she is slightly pink.

      • 🙂

  14. Wow, great pics. I’m going to be thinking for awhile on the quote about the shadow being more interesting than the object itself.

    • Oh, yeah! That’s one you could apply to a lot of relationships. Thanks for the visit, and for sharing your thoughts.

  15. Nice! My brother likes to take pictures of himself on his bike as he rides. Very interesting. Love the quote: “Worry gives a small thing a big shadow.” Also, this quote, although not about shadows, came to mind: “It is always darkest just before the dawn.” Maybe it was the light and dark theme- or the juxtaposition of positive and negative space in your photos- that brought that to mind. At any rate, I enjoyed seeing this post.

    • That is a very appropriate quote, Sue. What is a shadow but a manifestation of light vs. dark (among other things). Thanks for stopping by.

  16. I am so glad to have found your blog through Elisa Ruland, you have a beautiful and diverse blog, I am now an avid follower 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I look forward to visiting your blog too.

  17. All are illuminating!

  18. Marvelous.

  19. How neat that you were able to find appropriate quotes to fit the pictures! Nice job.

    • Thank you. I love that matchmaking process, and I really enjoy proverbs. In my anthology of folk tales, Apples From Heaven, I had the pleasure of pairing each story with the perfect proverb.

  20. Great shadow shots! Love these quotes. Thanks, Naomi!

  21. Beautiful pictures and the quotations are simply inspiring!

  22. Well done, Naomi! All are wonderful presentations of the theme!

  23. WOW!

    • Hi Mona. Thanks for stopping by, and for taking the time to comment.

  24. Love how you intermixed the proverbs with the photos. Great blog post Naomi!

    • Thanks, Kourtney. I LOVE proverbs. I’ve heard they are the essence of a culture boiled down into one short phrase.

  25. I have a hard time taking shadow pictures, but your’s are great and I love the quotes!

  26. Brilliant as ever, Naomi, with your weaving of words around the pictures. Such a wonderful selection of shadow quotes. I particularly love the Yiddish one.

    Here’s one I found: “The brightest flame casts the darkest shadow.”― George R.R. Martin, A Clash of Kings.

    • I love that quote, Sarah. The photo that goes with the Yiddish proverb was really a cool one. We were in Argentina in their winter, on salt flats. So when Bea jumped up into the air, her shadow was so far away that it really did look like she had jumped over it and left it far behind. Thank you so much for your thoughtful response.

  27. A lot of wisdom tucked between bits of fun. A delight.

  28. I love proverbes 🙂 Naomi, this is another great post I loved reading – thank you for sharing it with us .. my favourite is the Danish one about the dog’s shadow 🙂

    • They say proverbs are the essence and wisdom of a culture boiled down into one pearl.

      • 🙂 thank you for this Naomi 🙂 Bless you!

  29. Nicely done!

  30. These are beautifully made. 😉

    • Thank you, Elizabeth. It was really fun to put together.

  31. Shadow-play: that’s were the work gets done.
    Your photographs are always one beauty upon another, a poetry of sorts. Often quite soothing. Thank you! 🙂

    • Thank you, Jamie. It’s a quiet satisfying thing for me to put together one of these posts. Sort of like a crossword or a jigsaw puzzle, only you can share it with your friends.

  32. Love the pictures and the proverbs. Nicely done.

    • Thank you, thank you for stopping by and taking the time to share a comment.

      • Loved it.. makes me want to push harder. I will when this language training is completed.. so hard to keep up.

  33. Beautiful shadow shots Naomi! Lovely quotes as well! Thanks for sharing. 😀

  34. Beautiful!! I love the window!

  35. You have some marvelous shadows here. Thanks for playing.

    • Thanks for making it so easy, Cee. I look forward to participating more in the future.

  36. always a delight to visit your page, meaningful juxtaposition of photos and quotes… have a blessed weekend, Mrs. B 🙂

    • Dear Mrs. B,
      So good to hear from you! Thank you for your thoughtful response.
      Best wishes!
      Ms. B!

  37. So many wonderful shots to choose from!

    • Thank you so much for your visit, and for taking the time to comment!

  38. WOW! This is the best I’ve viewed yet in the “Shadow” challenge. I love the photographs, and appreciate the way you threaded them together with prose and quotes. Sensational effort.

    • Thank you for the kind response, and for the follow. I enjoyed a visit to your blog, and I see that you are an excellent photographer and storyteller. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

  39. Ah! The cat!

  40. What a wonderful job. I enjoyed looking at your shadows.

  41. […] Writing Between the LinesShadowplay […]

  42. […] Writing Between the Lines Shadowplay […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

