Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | February 13, 2013

True Confessions of a Tacky Tourist, and the Be-Very-Lated Sunshine Award

I’m a bad dog!  Aside from 2012 Blog of the Year Awards, I haven’t posted an  award since last May!   Those bloggers who honored me with these nominations have probably forgotten all about it, or long since given up.  But I’ve kept track, because I knew I’d get around to it……………………………………..eventually.

Here are the four simple rules of the Sunshine Blogger Award.

1. Display the logo on your blog.  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.  3. State 5 facts about yourself.  4. Pass the award on to 8 (or 10) other bloggers, and link to one of their specific posts so they get notified by ping back.

As long as I’m spilling the beans, all five facts will be the true confessions of a tacky tourist.  I hope you will still respect me in the morning.

5.  Yes, we are the tacky tourists your cool friends warned you about.

4. We didn’t get a magic carpet video in Cappadocia because we were running late, and our travel companions would’ve shunned us. But we wanted to.


3. We have discovered many practical and economical uses for a quality  zoom lens.

2. I must also confess that, in our travels, as hard as we tried, we were rarely able to embarrass our teenagers…

1. …Or get ourselves arrested.

Here are links back to the bloggers who nominated me for The Sunshine Award.  Be sure to check out their blogs–you will not be disappointed!

Sarah Potter of sarahpotterwrites is pursued by the muses of prose, poetry, and music.  She is a very fine poet, a heavenly singer, and a novelist.

Micheline of Micheline’s Blog features art, music, books, history, and current events.  Very classy!

Paula of stuff i tell my sister shares just that–all the stuff she shares with her best friend who is also her sister.  It’s like sitting at their kitchen table.

Carol of Loethen Art Designs, Creativity, Camera, and Computer!

Rara of rarasaur, where frightfully wondrous things happen.  She has a fun, quirky, natural voice that I really enjoy.

Maggie Myklebust of flyawayhome is an American author living in Norway.  She shares her life on her blog and in her memoir Fly Away Home.

Now I get to pass forward The Sunshine Award to the following bloggers.  Please take a minute to pay them a visit.

Nikki of imayfly has a fun fresh voice with a wry sense of humor.

Island Traveler  of thisman’sjourney is refreshing and inspiring.  If you ever need a little hit of sweetness–and sunshine–check out his blog.

Tess at How The Cookie Crumbles is a sharp writer, and I really enjoy her flash fiction.

Naomi at The Teatime Reader has excellent taste in books, and reviews them for her readers intelligently, perceptively, and eloquently.

Christine of Texana’s Kitchen is funny and smart, a great storyteller, and she always leaves you with a great recipe to try out.

Russel of Russel Ray Photos will give you great photography tips, as well as share pearls of wisdom from his wise old Grandma!

4AM Writer will give you tips on how to balance your writing and your life.

Ruth of Ruth E. Hendricks Photography will give you sweet glimpses of sunshine and shadow in her beautiful photography.

The Geek Goddess of Two Different Girls will take you to interesting out of the way places and make you smile every time!

I have more be-very-lated awards to post, and many more great blogs and bloggers to introduce you to.  I don’t want to overwhem you, so I will dole them out like Blog Candy.   Thanks for stopping by.  Warmly, Naomi

Responses

  1. You picked some awesome bloggers to award! Congratulations on your award & your great taste. 🙂

  2. I have two grown kids who can’t get enough of the cut-out tourist photo opportunity. I have a classic one they took at the zoo of me as the mamma chicken and my middle girl as the chick. I sometimes think I’m too graceful to indulge…but then I do, anyway.

    • Oh, that’s funny! Maybe we will get to see this sometime???????

  3. Good words … bad dog – I’m the same … I have loads to pass on – like the way you have done yours here.
    Congratulations to you and yours nominees.

    • Thank you. One of the reasons I put off the award posts is because I want all my posts to be interesting and visually pleasing. That’s harder to do that when you have certain information and formats you have to convey and utilize. But I have found, and I think you could too, ways to dress up an award post.

      • I have done … a couple and it was fun, but now they are so many … have to give it good thought or maybe – turn awards down.

  4. Congratulations!

    And the photo with the headless person scooping up his/her own head is priceless!

    I shall be waiting for more bloggy yum yums.

    • Thanks, Mike. That photo is probably one of my favorites–maybe because we had such a good time in this little standing stone circle in Killarney, and even my husband was willing to play along and be silly.

      It’s so nice to have you out and about the blogosphere again. I really loved the poem you wrote about snow.

  5. Muchas gracious, Naomi. You are Best in Show in my book. And, I was thinking about you when I was in Charleston and how much fun it would be to do a photographic montage like you do so well. Hope you don’t mind the copy. Best form of compliment they say? xoxo Nikki

    • Hi Nikki,
      I saw that post, but didn’t reply yet because I wanted to take the time to write a worthy comment. I loved it. It felt like you were taking us on tour with you. I enjoy details and variety, just like you do, but there is no doubt about it, Nikki. You have your own style! Best wishes, and I’ll be by soon.

  6. Congratulations, Naomi! I absolutely love the pictures 😀

    • Thank you, Dianne. We had a lot of fun, and while putting together this post, I got to re-live it one more time. I appreciate the visit.

  7. ha ha fabulous facts and photos 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by, and taking the time to comment! It is always good to hear from you.

  8. Congrats to you, Naomi, and what a fun way to accept the award. 🙂 You have a really fun family. 🙂 Congrats to all your worthy nominees too.

    • Hi ad! Thanks for the visit, and for sharing your generous thoughts. It always seemed to me that your family is a fun one, too, with lots of togetherness, travel, and celebration. Best wishes to you all!

  9. Naomi, what a gracious and endearing way to accept much deserved awards. Brilliant!

    • Thank you, Jo! What a generous comment! One of the pleasures I get at a party, or in the blogosphere, is to get to introduce two friends and see them click! It’s also important to me to make each post memorable, or at least amusing. As you know, a fun photo will do wonders to dress up a post.

  10. Well done. And Congratulations. And that reminds me that I have to dig out a few, too. I always forget …

    • Thank you, Elyse! It’s easy to forget, but I have a new system now for keeping track. I have complied all my nominations as drafts, with the blogger who nominated me and the date of the nomination listed, so that I don’t lose track of time or of the bloggers I want to acknowledge before I can post it. It sounds simple enough, but I was proud of myself for thinking of it, after it took hours to go back and reconstruct the history. I just hope nobody slipped in between the cracks.

      • Good for you. I set up a file in my gmail account and stick them in there. And forget them. Sigh.

      • Now that I have figured out how to keep track of them, I will post one every month or so until I am caught up. Also, I will still include a story, so that it is not just overwhelming readers with information.

      • Awards. A blessing and a curse!

  11. Yes! I too belong to the club of tacky tourists. What is the point of traveling if you can’t behave differently than when you are home? Oh, wait – maybe we act the same way at home, eh?

    • Oh, definitely, Anne. But with your new fake-fur beary-nice toasty warm hoodie with the extremely fetching ears, you can do it in style!

  12. Congrats, Naomi!

  13. Congratulations dear Naomi, and Thank you, have a nice day, love, nia

    • Thank you, Nia. Happy Valentine’s Day!
      Love,
      Naomi

  14. One has to admire your graciousness, and you willingness to play the game.

    • Dear Shimon,
      The award posts can sometimes be dull, because there is a formula we are required to follow and so much information to pass on, but I do want to express my appreciation to the folks who are expressing their appreciation for me, and pass it along to others.

      So the challenge is to find a way to make a post fun, and to catch the eye and interest of readers before they realize it’s just another award post! Oh, yes, and I don’t mind breaking the rules if that’s what it takes.

      • I agree with you, Naomi, it’s a hard assignment. But I think you did a fine post. As for breaking the rules… sometimes it’s an act of grace to do so.

      • Thank you, Shimon.

  15. Looks like all of you have fun when you travel. Sign me up!

  16. A post well worth the wait 😉 xox

    • Thank you, Sarah! And I’m not done yet!

  17. The shark photo is awesome.

    • Thank you! It was a grand photo op just outside Snorkel Bob’s on Maui, if you are not too dignified or grownup to take advantage of it!

  18. Congrats to you Naomi and very well deserved – I’ve had some fun looking at your pictures and I’m off to check out your nominations now over a cup of tea – Happy Valentines Day

    • Thank you! And a Happy Valentine’s Day to you too!

  19. That’s the only fun way to travel, isn’t it? I do regret the moments when I let the disapproving looks of other (boring) tourists stop me from doing something so tacky it’s FUN.

    • That’s where there’s safety in numbers, Tita. When we were taking pictures at the standing stones, we posted a lookout! I am quite sure you are lots of fun to travel with.

  20. Cool post!
    You deserve all the awards that you get 🙂
    Love this shots, specially the last one, very creative!!

    • Dear Pablo,
      So good to hear from you! I hope the new year is treating you well.

  21. Congratulations, Naomi, and thanks for nominating me! Your blog is captivating and I’m honoured to be included in your picks.

    • Oh, Naomi, it is definitely my pleasure. The Teatime Reader is definitely a cut above, and I feel fortunate to have found you!

      • Well, thanks – I’m blushing, and I’m also very glad to be appreciated by a great storyteller like yourself.

      • Heck, now ya got me blushing!

      • 🙂

  22. Congratulations!!!

    • Thank you, Rexlin, and I’m happy to be able to pass it on to some great bloggers.

  23. your fun posts are giving us some ideas about what to do for a lot of upcoming birthdays, thanks for sharing your sheer joy….its nice….love the photos with the girls head being lifted from the stone

    • Thank you! I have such an appreciation for flowers, and your posts always give me great ideas too.

  24. You are too kind, Naomi and I thank you for the nomination. Alas, I can hardly stay on top of reading and commenting post. I prefer not to accept and suggest ‘winners’ because I want to share with everyone. Another point is it’s too time-consuming doing all the steps. I can’t multi-task like I used to=I am slowing down. Yeah, surprises me too.

    • Dear Tess,

      I sure do understand. (That’s why it took me so long to pass on this award). When I pass on an award I think I need to put in some kind of reassurance that people shouldn’t feel obligated to participate. I just love to introduce folks, and let you know how much I appreciate you and your writing. Best wishes!

  25. What a sweet mention, thank you so much Naomi. I love your tourist photos. My family does stuff like that too, so it’s good to know we’re not the only crazy ones out there. 😉

    • Pretty landscapes are all very nice, but it is these goofy ones that we and our kids will look at again and again. Wishing you all the best, and great success in your writing.

  26. Congratulations! Thanks for sharing rays of happy and inspiring sunshine my way. Your blog is filled with joyful adventures with lots of fun and humor that makes us all smile.

    • Thank you! You and your family are a ray of sunshine. I know my readers will enjoy visiting your blog. Best wishes to you and your sweet family.

  27. Hooray! Congratulations. Well done and well passed on.

  28. Thank you, Jamie!

  29. Congratulations… still working on mine… Phew! 😉

    • No kidding! I love to pass these on to my readers and introduce my friends to each other, but it’s hard to find the time to keep up with the reading and regular posts. But I will try to do another before too long.
      Have a great weekend, Elizabeth.

  30. Brilliant and fun 😀 Your acknowledgements get better with every nomination! Many congratulations Naomi 🙂

    • Dear Madhu,
      Thank you so much! The awards are a mixed blessing, and I like to make them *A.F.A.P.

      *As Fun As Possible!!

  31. Congratulations my friend. Your blog is not only brings sunshine but it brings that magic we all feel at the beginning of each new day. Your adventures with your family inspires me every time. You are blessed to have a family that embrace life with so much optimism. Who seeks to travel the road of goodness, laughter, friendship, faith , love and joy. It’s an honor to share this award with you.

  32. Congratulations and well deserved, Naomi.
    Cheers!

    • thank you, Maggie! And thanks for stopping by.

  33. […] me, Blogger, it has been three weeks since my last confession.  But springtime is when many schools host their Young Authors Conferences and Writing Weeks. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

