Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | July 15, 2013

A Peace of My Mind

I posted this eight months ago, but wanted to share this with my new readers.  It is a perfect response to The Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour.

Writing Between the Lines

Last September my son Eli and I went on a great road trip with my daughter Bea, to deliver her, an incoming freshman, to Stanford University.

Then all of a sudden Bea was at school…

…and Eli and I were back in the van on the long drive home to Seattle.

For our trip down, we’d booked nice hotels in advance.  It was all about our last hurrah before saying goodbye to Bea.  Maybe because we didn’t want to think about coming back without her, we forgot to plan the trip home.  We were unprepared, disorganized, and we both kept looking around for Bea.

It was after midnight when we pulled into Redding, CA.

We found a place that simple, but clean, and woke refreshed and ready to move on–from Redding, and from Stanford.  We were going to write ourselves a new story.

We explored a delightfully shabby gold rush town…

View original post 453 more words

Responses

  1. Still beautiful, the second time!

  2. Wow, though I’m not sure why I’m surprised and say ‘wow’ every time I see your posts Naomi. It’s simply the most stunning collection of shots. Now, can you reblog a reblog….?

    • Dear Roy,
      You are too kind! Thank you so much for the reblog. So good to hear from you. I have been enjoying your stories of Jersey!

  3. I love the spontaneity of this visit – how delightful! Your photos reminded me of a wonderful childhood trip to Crater Lake many years ago – thank you for that….

    • Hi Letizia,
      Thanks so much for the visit, for your generous response, and for sharing a bit of your story. Thanks for the follow. I enjoyed my visit to your blog,and look forward to following you as well.

  4. Not a new reader, but I loved this one the first time, and again today! 😀

    • Dear Rara,
      Thanks so much. Such a lovely message, and it’s always good to hear from you.

  5. I remember this. After all, it was unforgettable!
    And is again —


Leave a Reply

Categories

