Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | December 2, 2014

Back Down to Earth

There is freedom in cutting loose one’s bonds to float high above the rest of the world.

To be quiet, and alone in one’s thoughts.

It is a space and place that I do sometimes share.

Just when I find myself adjusting to the elevation…

…and the solitude…

Just when I start feeling too comfortable, too removed…

…I feel a tug on the heartstrings that brings me back down to earth.

Sometimes it’s as simple as discovering on my front walk a baby bird that needs to be returned to its nest.

More often it is my own baby birds, coming home to roost.

Even just for a little while.

All words and images c2014 Naomi Baltuck.

Click here for more interpretations of The Weekly Travel Theme: Above.

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. All images, visual and text, suitable for framing, mounting, contemplating.

    • Thank you, Richard, for sharing your very generous thoughts on this post.

  2. Wow! These are incredible shots, Naomi! I love the little girl on the bench…stunning.

    • Thank you, Jill. That’s my own little girl, taken too many years ago! I sure appreciate your visit and your kind words.

  3. Lovely as always. Perfect pairing of photos and words.

    • Thank you, Lisa. I rarely know exactly what I am going to say or which photos I will use, but it always seems to work out –they’re like wallflowers that find each other at a party!

      • I love this simile about the wallflowers. Are those baby birds coming home to roost any time soon?

      • Hi Patti,

        Thank you for your generous comment. I have only two weeks before Bea comes home from school for the holidays, and then Eli will be returning from Turkey for a couple of weeks at the end of January. I am SO looking forward to it. It will be Eli’s first Christmas away from home, and my first Christmas without him. It had to happen sometime, and we will do our best to make the days merry and bright now, and again when he is here. We hope to cut a tree later in the season and leave it up for him.

      • I know he will appreciate that.

  4. A really thoughtful take on the challenge, Naomi. Love your words and beautiful images, always. 🙂

    • Thank you, Sylvia. I loved going back to Machu Picchu with you for this challenge!

  5. W . o . w . 😮 The pictures are gorgeous, but the second one, I can get lost in. This must be heaven. ❤

    • Thank you, Tess! That was Norway, which was truly one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. Unfortunately, we can never go back because my mild mannered husband is on their Most Wanted List. Someday I will blog about that story too!

      • OooOOoo. Sounds like a good story. Take your time. I can sit on the edge for quite a while. I’m tough that way. 😀

      • You always make me smile!

      • As do you, Naomi. As do YOU. 🙂
        Love your travelogues. The pictures always speak to me.

  6. Great photographs. Number four is my favourite. Reminds me of the small desolate islands scattered like forgotten toys around the coastline of Ireland. Peaceful.

    • Thank you, JD! You are spot on. That is Skellig Michael, off the coast of Ireland. I chose it because it because it was so starkly beautiful and incredibly desolate, occupied for centuries by the monks who cloistered themselves at the top of that rocky mountain six miles out to sea.

      • I didn’t recognise it! I have been to a lot of those islands. Scattery Island of the coast of Kilrush, County Clare is another great island to visit, the last people to live on the island left in 1969 so you can spend hours exploring the abandoned lighthouse or the ruins of the old houses. When there was life on the island they managed to escape the famine and recorded not one single death during the entire famine, nobody really knows why, they relied on the potato just as much as anyone but historians have suggested that they were highly skilled in fishing and might have got employment helping people to leave the country for England. If these little islands could talk…

        They filmed part of the new Star Wars movie on Skellig Michael too.

      • Wow! First of all, I want to go visit that island! It’s fascinating that not a soul died during the Famine, which was absolutely devastating and horrific everywhere else in Ireland. Secondly, now I really need to watch the new Star Wars movie to see how they used Skellig Michael for a setting!

  7. The “after-roost” let down is another phenomenon…back at the home business, children again disbursed, feeling a bit sad. 😦 But I am pleased by the time we had and hopeful that there will be more.

    • Dear Scilla,
      I know that feeling, but it helps to know that she will be home again in less than two weeks for winter break, and I hope you will see your kids again soon too.

      • Thanks for the cyber hug-type note! I think we’re planning to get together again in January as two of them are going to California at Christmas to see my mom & sibs there. Maybe I can entice one to come up and visit me in the interim, now that my living room is clean!

      • It’s great that they want to see their Grandma.Fingers crossed for you, Scilla, for January!

  8. I have no words. I have only sighs. Words and photos combined: priceless!

    • Dear Carol,
      Thank you for your heartfelt response. I know you have a really sweet relationship with your kids, and that the visits you share are always fantastic. It is hard to see them go, but good to know that true love will bring them home again.

  9. thank you for the transport!! Beautiful Naomi!

    • Dear Cybele,
      Thank you so much for coming along for the ride! It is always good to hear from you.

  10. Beautiful pictures! The fifth picture down (with the fog/mist) looks like it could have been taken here in Nova Scotia. 🙂

    • Thank you, Naomi. That photo was taken on Big Sur, the very dramatic coastline of California, just south of Monterey. I do remember visiting Nova Scotia waaaaayy back in 1967 (probably long before you were born!), and I still recall the very beautiful and dramatic craggy coastline.

      • I think you’re due for another visit. 🙂

      • I would love to get back there, and while there I would zip over to Newfoundland to see the Viking settlement, which hadn’t been discovered yet. (And it is the one province in Canada that I have not yet been to.)

      • You’re doing better than me, then. I haven’t been past Ontario. I’m still looking forward to that cross-country trip that I’ve been dreaming about for years! That’s why I have to read about those places instead. 🙂

  11. What an awesome series, Naomi! There are some stunning shots.

    • Thanks, Amy! I sure appreciate the visit, and your very kind response.

  12. I thought that looked like Skellig Michael! Yes, as JD says it’s been very popular with film-type people recently. My favourite though is Bea(?) on the bench looking over the river valley.

    • Hi Roy,

      Thanks for stopping by. Yes, that’s Bea, looking out over a fjord in Norway. I didn’t know that Skellig Michael had been re-discovered by the film industry. It certainly is picturesque. Hope you are well!

  13. Beautiful and very moving, Naomi

    • Thank you, Cathryn. It is always good to hear from you. I hope you are healing up well after your tumble.

  14. These photos are absolutely stunning, Naomi xxx

  15. Sigh. What a lovely meditation to get lost in for a few minutes of the day.

    Nancy

    • Dear Nancy,

      Thanks so much for your very sweet comment. It is always good to hear form you! Wishing you a relaxing weekend–stay warm!

      • And the same to you also!

  16. Space and time to relax and get away are so important, Naomi. I pray you have that time and space daily.

    janet

    • Hi Janet,
      Thank you for the visit, and for your sweet and thoughtful comment. I love parties and social activity, but I do need the quiet and solitude to recharge.

      • I’m with you 100%, Naomi!

  17. These photos are breathtaking! I love how concise your blog posts are, but how they still say so much through the words and images. That’s not easy to pull off!

    • Hi Britt,
      Thanks for the thoughtful comment. The photo stories have been an interesting exercise in brevity, which I needed! I hope you are well–it’s always good to hear from you.

  18. Poetry — written in both words — and images —-

    • Thank you so much for your generous thoughts and words!

  19. Very beautiful, poetic and moving post. Your photos make me want to travel to those places.

    • Hi Lee,

      Thanks so much for the visit. I know you will get to these places someday, Lee. One at a time, perhaps, but you will get there! That last photo of this post is Bea as a little girl–do you remember that trip to the Tetons, with all our kids playing together on the muddy banks of Pilgrim Creek?

  20. Precious words and images……especially that last shot of Bea.

    • Dear Madhu,
      I have loved that photo for a long time, and was just hoping for the right time to use it! Thanks so much for the visit, and for your kind encouragement.

  21. beautiful writing Naomi – Canyon

    • Hi Canyon,
      Thanks so much for stopping by. It’s great to hear from you. We’re looking forward to seeing you very soon!

  22. […] Naomi […]

  23. […] tend to be a happy hermit, but this October has been unusually […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

