Posted by: Naomi Baltuck | May 10, 2015

Reflections

Writing Between the Lines

Once, when we were running late, I was waiting impatiently to lift my little boy Eli into his car seat, while he studied a bug on the driveway.  “Hurry up!” I said.  “We’re going to be late.”

Puzzled, my little boy looked up at me and said, “Mommy, why are you using that tone of voice?”

Such a grownup expression from the mouth of the babe!  And it took my breath away.

“You’re right, honey,” I told him. “It’s not the end of the world if we’re late to pre-school, and it wouldn’t be your fault, if we were.”

Eli and I had a good look at the bug, while I quietly reflected upon what kind of parent I wanted to be.  Which memory of me would I want my kids to look back on and remember me by?  My mother once told me, “The best friends you’ll ever have…

View original post 45 more words

Responses

  1. We learn from our children. They are the greatest teachers.

    • One of the greatest gifts of parenthood was being able to see the world anew through their eyes.

  2. What’s more important than a bug? 🙂 –Curt

    • What’s more important than a bug? Nothing, at that particular time and place. Thanks for making me smile, Curt.

  3. Nice to dip into the archive occasionally and find something that still resonates.

    • Thank you, Roy! I had company and a long Skype with the kids, but wanted to do something to observe Mother’s Day so thought I would reblog this, as many of my new readers hadn’t seen it. Thank you so much for stopping by again! It’s always good to hear from you.

  4. I may have not written my response yesterday (I hope I am not repeating myself!) I liked this post and its special message included in it. This made a great Mother’s Day post.

    I bet this was one of the first times you were ready to rush into the car when it happened. This is the greatest thing ever, your son letting you be reminded of those precious moments together. Studying a bug is valuable time spent together.

    “Time is of the essence” when you are at work, but with family members, one never knows how short time will be; so making it all count is a great lesson you learned from your son. This doesn’t mean you didn’t still have to hurry on different occasions but the quality of your moments improved from this.

    I appreciate this honest post and the reminder to us all to savor special moments with our loved ones, Naomi.

    • Dear Robin,
      I so appreciate your thoughtful responses. Kids grow up all too soon, and so I treasured my time with them, and still do. I appreciate your reminder that one never knows how short time will be. Having lost my dad when I was eight and my mom when I was thirty-four, I learned not to take anything for granted. Thank you again for bringing such a thoughtful and wise perspective into this conversation. Your family is fortunate to have you!

  5. Naomi, I’ve nominated you to be part of the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge. The challenge, should you decide to accept it, is to “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”. No obligation to you, but I think you’d do a marvelous job.

    janet

    • Hi Janet,
      Thank you for nominating me. I love the idea of promoting storytelling as a way of sharing and reaching out to our blogging community. I will see what I can come up with. Thanks for thinking of me!

  6. Children are so honest and the best teachers.

    • Isn’t that the truth! Thanks for stopping by and checking in on the conversation. Hope you are well!

  7. This post brought back so many memories and feelings, straight from the heart–and mouth–of my daughter. And now her children are “teaching” just as she taught me. Thank you for this post.

    • Hi Marilyn,
      Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. How fortunate you are to be able to share the world through the eyes of yet another generation!

  8. Your mother’s words are so true. It’s hard to imagine that relationship when children start taking those baby steps away from us to “do it myself.”

  9. Beautiful reflection on how we relate to mothers. Great post. Thank you!

    • Thanks so much for your very kind response!


Leave a Reply

Categories

